The Sabie Game Reserve (as it was then known) was proclaimed in 1892 by the president of the Transvaal Republic, Paul Kruger. The area between the Sabie and Crocodile Rivers were initially set aside for restricted hunting and in 1902 James Stevenson-Hamilton was appointed the first warden.
In May 1926 the Sabie and Shingwedzi Game Reserves were combined to create the Kruger National Park. There are nearly 254 cultural heritage sites in the Kruger including rock art sites.
Homo erectus (early humans) roamed the area between 500 000 and 100 000 years ago and cultural artefacts have been found from 100 000 to 30 000 years ago.
There is lots of evidence of the San and Iron Age people who lived on these lands 1500 years ago and there are historical tales of the Nguni and European explorers and settlers in the Kruger area.